Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Maloney Named New State Historic Preservation Officer

Wednesday, October 10, 2007
Press Advisory for Immediate Release

(Washington, DC) DC Planning Director Harriet Tregoning today named David Maloney the District’s new State Historic Preservation Officer.

“David has been working on preservation issues for more than 25 years and he is hands-down the best candidate for the job,” Tregoning said. “We are delighted that he has decided to take on this new leadership position. He has been and will continue to be a huge asset to us.”

Maloney had been serving as acting director since January 2006 and had been Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer since 2003. Maloney is extensively involved in all aspects of the preservation program, with lead responsibility for preservation planning and the review of major commercial and government projects downtown and in the Mall area. He represents the Mayor on the National Capital Memorial Advisory Commission.

Prior to joining the HPO in 1985, Maloney served for seven years as staff architect and program manager for the Pennsylvania Avenue Development Corporation, focusing on residential and historic preservation programs. He received a Bachelor of Arts in Architecture from Princeton, attended the graduate architecture program at the University of Pennsylvania, and received a Master of Arts in Urban and Regional Planning from the George Washington University.

The Historic Preservation Office is a part of the DC Office of Planning. It was established to provide professional expertise to the planning director and staff on matters affecting the District’s historic buildings, sites and districts. It also ensures the District complies with the federal requirements in the National Historic Preservation Act.

There are more than 500 individual landmarks and more than 25,000 designated historic structures in the District’s 43 historic districts