dmped

Office of the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development
 

DC Agency Top Menu


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Business License Renewal Dates and Guidelines by Agency

Most general business and professional licenses in the District are renewed on a biennial basis. However, check with the issuing agency for specifics on your individual license. 

Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration

  • License renewals are every three years, with a due date of 3/31/FY or 9/30/FY depending on your class of license.
  • ABRA mails renewal packets with instructions and requirements to the address they have on file with the licensee
  • Completed renewal packets must be submitted in person to:

    Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration
    2000 14th Street, NW
    Suite 400 South
    Washington, DC 20009
     
  • There is an annual license fee to be paid by 3/31/FY or 9/30/FY depending on the class of license. The amount of the license fee is dependent on the class of license and for on-premises consumption licensees, the amount of seats on the establishment's certificate of occupancy.
  • Additionally, holders of Retailer's License Class CR, CH, DR, or DH must submit quarterly reports to ABRA that indicate the licensee's alcoholic beverage and food sales. The quarterly report information and requirements will be mailed to the address ABRA has on file for the license. Completed quarterly reports may be submitted electronically: https://octo.quickbase.com/db/bfzbpvdh5?a=nwr or must be mailed or hand-delivered to:

    Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration
    2000 14th Street, NW
    Suite 400 South
    Washington, DC 20009

Department of Banking and Financial Institutions

  • Check Casher License: 60 days prior to the expiration of the current license
  • Consumer Sales Finance: Prior to the expiration of the current license
  • Money Lender Class A: Prior to the expiration of the current license
  • Money Transmitter: Prior to the expiration of the current license
  • Mortgage Lender and/or Broker: Prior to the expiration of the current license

Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs - Renew Trade Name

  • Must renew every other year on the Basic Business License anniversary date (of primary business).
  • If the business does not require a license, the anniversary date is based on when the business first registered the trade name.
  • The Trade Name expires on the same date as the Basic Business License.
  • The Trade Name renewal fee is $50. There is a $500 penalty for failure to file.

Department of Health

  • License renewals are every other year by anniversary date, and the process varies by profession.
  • DOH mails renewal packets with instructions and requirements to the address they have on file for the license.
  • Completed renewal packets must be mailed to:

    Assessment Systems Inc.
    8201 Corporate Dr.
    Landover, MD 20735
     
  • Continuing education requirements vary by profession.

Department of Insurance, Securities and Regulation

  • Insurance Provider License: Annually on anniversary date or by 5/1
  • Agents and Brokers License: Annually by 12/31
  • Securities Professionals (Investments Advisors) Licenses: Annually on anniversary date

Taxicab Commission

  • License must be renewed every other year by license expiration date.